Skip to content

Existence

August 22, 2009

Note: “Existence” is a drabble, a story of exactly 100 words.

by Stan Moor

“Why do I exist?” asked the robot.

“Because I created you,” responded the mechanic.

“Why did you create me?”

“To see that I could.”

“Then my being has no purpose?”

“Your purpose was to fulfill my goal of creation.”

“But you have no use for me, now?”

“No. You may do whatever you like.”

“But what should I do, if I have no rational function?” the robot inquired.

“Ah! If you can answer that question, then you will be a prophet!” the mechanic replied.

“Then my function shall be to prophetize,” said the machine, and walked solemnly from the room.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

