Skip to content

Fear

August 20, 2009

Note: “Fear” is a drabble, a story of exactly 100 words.

by Garrick Sherman

I’m so afraid.

I’m in dire need of help. Someone, please, help. I don’t know what to do anymore. I’m in serious danger.

There are kidnappers, murderers, and rapists out to get me. Guns are as good as pointed at my chest, knives as good as sheathed in my belly, bats as good as struck across my head. A car could hit me or I could slip and fall and die.

I don’t know what I did. I didn’t do anything, I don’t think. I’m afraid to go outside. The world is out there, and it scares me to death.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Justin permalink
    September 14, 2009 2:39 am

    wow. such a realistic situation and perspective on the daily life experienced by many people. thanks. open mic material?

  2. Old Man D. permalink
    August 21, 2009 9:10 am

    Very nice. I really felt the narrator’s unease, panic, and paranoia.

    The drabble format must be challenging, but I like it. I’d like to see more of these.

Leave a Reply

